We need a new kind of actions

Occupy started marvellous. Unexpectedly thousands of squares in the whole world were occupied and the target was clear, the greedy rich, the financial centres, the people who caused the crisis. There are still many actions in the political field but Occupy can only distinguish itself as a new force with an exclusive target (the 1%) that nobody has on its agenda.Most actions are reactions on what happens in the political world, the NDAA, the lack of jobs, the sackings, the G8, the NATO, the rising poverty, the foreclosures, etc. Honourable targets but it does not activate all 99% and neither the political leaders nor the 1%, who continue to reap the fruits of the crisis, are much disturbed.

Actions are mostly reactions on what the other side does, not about how some people continue to benefit tremendously. The deeper causes of all misery are not attacked and the power and the money of the 1% is not under pressure. There is hardly any change. So why should the 99% join Occupy?

Appealing successes are lacking and the attractive and unifying target, the 1%, disappeared. On Occupy sites the words “the 1%” are hardly used anymore and most attention is directed on the puppets of the 1%, the politicians. Direct pressure on the 1% is hard to find. The new inspiring ideas of Occupy have withered away and despite the spring actions Occupy seems to stagnate. 

Without successes the 99% will not participate in the struggle against the 1%. Some actions are still directed against corporations and banks, but the CEO’s and the bankers continue to live undisturbed their extravagant and privileged life.
Something new is needed! 

The target, the place, the time and the how of the present actions are highly influenced by others somewhere up there. We should start new unpredictable actions against the 1% on the place, the time and the how we decide.
The simple target to take the power and the money away from the 1% will attract many 99%.

Joost van Steenis

About Joost van Steenis

My latest book "How to make Revolution, developing the Fourth People's Power", can be downloaded for free from my site http://members.chello.nl/jsteenis. It contains new ideas how to take the money and power away from the most powerful people, the elite. It strives to get a new society in which not money is the pivotal point of all discussions but the idea that all people have the same status. New action means are introduced to reach this paradigm shift (a revolution) that concentrate on direct actions in the living sphere of the elite.
This entry was posted in 1%, 99%, Action, Elite, Occupy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to We need a new kind of actions

  1. Pingback: Actions of the past have not changed the world | downwithelite

  2. Pingback: The Golden Rule for Actions | downwithelite

  3. Pingback: The 1% rules already too long | downwithelite

  4. I’m trying to nourish a similar community to this myself, there’s
    an enormous amount of effort that goes into it. Really vibrant community
    as well, which is not easy to keep going.

  5. Bruce Eggum says:

    Dwight, there are greater rewards than cash.

  6. Dwight says:

    As far as I’m concerned, there’s no point getting out of bed for less than a grand, so this doesn’t seem as though it’s worth the hassle to me.

  7. Mathias says:

    No matter if someone is searching for a useful piece of data, they may
    want to try this site, because it’s mentioned a lot here.

  8. I have been browsing on-line greater than three hours lately, yet
    I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours.
    It’s lovely price enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content as you did, the net will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  9. Why viewers still use papers when in this digital world all is accessible on net?

  10. Now then everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site, and entry is in fact fruitful in support of me, keep up posting such posts.

  11. Brooke says:

    Hello, just wanted to say, I loved this article.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!

  12. best loan says:

    When I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each
    time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there a way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  13. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a
    blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

  14. Rosetta says:

    Hi, its crucial post regarding media print, we all be aware of media is
    a fantastic source of data.

  15. Hello There. I found your blog using bing. This is a very well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely come back.

  16. money says:

    Hello exceptional blog! Does running a blog like this take a massive amount work?
    I have virtually no expertise in programming
    however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways,
    if you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off subject nevertheless I just wanted to ask.
    Thanks!

    • Hello, You have to write articles and that cost time and it is fairly difficult to get followers – unless you have a facebook account, you can make all your friends followers. WordPress is fairly easy to use as blog. I use one of the simpliest ways and it pleases me. No programming knowledge needed. Besides the writing of articles it does not cost so much time. Success

  17. Michael Messina-Yauchzy says:

    Joost, I’ve read several of your blog posts now concerning a “new kind of action” against the one percent, but (pardon me for being blunt) your idea still seems very vague. Please give one specific example, real or fictional, of the kind of action you are proposing. And let me be clear, it is only nonviolent action that will interest me.

  18. Pingback: Actions should have more success! | downwithelite

  19. Pingback: We need a new kind of actions | downwithelite

  20. Bruce Eggum says:

    Joost please clarify what you think we must do. The “Occupy” did pull millions together which is needed. Now how can we as a “group” make demands which will lead to necessary legislation? I favor each country [and the World Group] developing Initiatives with Binding Referendum. The Initiatives of course must comply with Values and Principles of the group.

  21. Pingback: We should start pressuring the 1% | downwithelite

  22. Paul Tremble says:

    I agree, but it is not all the 1% that the problem lies with. The real problem worldwide is Zionism. The people that really control the worlds governments and financial systems are Zionists. Nothing will change for the better while they are at the helm. They must be arrested and thrown in Gitmo for what they have done/ intend to do.

Leave a Reply

